Close Message
Main Content

News Detail

MPS Foundation Awards $66,000 in Scholarships to MPS Students

MPS_promo from Frank Datzer follow me @dcpvideo on Vimeo.

MPS Foundation Awards At the MPS Foundation’s 3rd Annual Celebration of Scholars on May 9, family, friends, donors, and community members gathered to celebrate and support the newest group of MPS Foundation scholarship recipients.  Twelve scholarships totaling over $66,000 were awarded to 20 students.  They are:

Anderson Family Scholarship: Jyris Jiles, Barack Obama School of Career and Technical Education

Arts@Large Scholarship: Kiva Carman-Frank, Rufus King International Baccalaureate High School

Bernice K. Rose Scholarship:

Biluge Ntabala, Milwaukee High School of the Arts

Sumaya Ahmed, Audubon Technology and Communication High School

Sema Ejinio, Washington High School of Information Technology

Monet Thomas, Milwaukee Marshall High School

Ruth Fetaw, Rufus King International Baccalaureate High School

Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin Medical Staff Scholarship: Ngun Tial, Reagan College Preparatory High School

Marquette University Panhellenic Scholarship: Marshall Hemphill, Lynde & Harry Bradley Technology and Trade School

MPS Proud Scholarship: Fadumo Hassan, Pulaski High School

MPS Public Scholars Scholarship: Feroz Khan Akhbar Khan, Pulaski High School

Patricia Cadorin Women in Leadership Honorary Scholarship: Salmai Hernandez, Reagan College Preparatory High School

Robert Simiele Memorial Scholarship: Jarell Powell, Lynde & Harry Bradley Technology and Trade School

Shirley Kersey Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers: Brenden Davis, Golda Meir High School

Tabak Family Scholarship:    

Isaiah Gordon, Golda Meir High School

Hamso Mohammed, Riverside University High School

Terrance Robinson, Wisconsin Conservatory for Lifelong Learning

Asho Aroni, Riverside University High School

Tamieya Johnson, Riverside University High School

Tad Dugan Memorial Scholarship: Vaew Chang, Rufus King International Baccalaureate High School

In addition, special awards were presented to Gilbert Stuart Elementary School and Marianne Soldavini, a retired teacher nominated by scholarship recipient Vaew Chang.

“We are so proud of our young people,” said Ann Terrell, Executive Director of the MPS Foundation.  “We couldn’t be happier to celebrate their accomplishments and support them with these scholarships so they can pursue their college goals.”

© Milwaukee Public Schools 2019
To top